My education

Having completed my undergraduate studies – B.Soc.Sci (Hons) in Social Administration and Social Work – and been awarded the Certificate of Qualification of Social Work (CQSW) at the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom, I worked as a Probation Officer in the West Midlands Probation Service.

I returned to academic study when I moved to Liverpool in the mid-1980s, studying part time to complete my Masters degree in Women’s Studies at the University of Liverpool, United Kingdom in 1993 (Dissertation title: Main Grade Female Probation Officers’ attitudes towards promotion in Merseyside Probation Service).

Having moved to work in Higher Education, I embarked on my doctoral study on a part time basis with the University of Sheffield, United Kingdom, and was awarded my PhD in 2015. (Title of thesis: Recalling childhood experiences of parental separation and divorce: An internet based phenomenology of young adult voices).

Academic appointments:

I moved into Higher Education in 2002, since then I have worked at two universities in the north west of England, leading curriculum development and programme delivery in the areas of Childhood and Youth Studies and Education Studies at undergraduate and Masters level. I am involved in supervising PhD students and have experience of external examining at two English universities.

Membership of professional bodies:

  • Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (Recognition number: 50667)
  • Social Worker registered with the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) (Registration number: 1121972)

 

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close